Marschner Young Scientist Award

The Winners of the "Marschner Young Scientist Award”

In honor of Professor Horst Marschner who was a passionate supporter of students and young researchers, the 17th International Plant Nutrition Colloquium (IPNC) has established the Marschner Young Scientist Award for outstanding PhD students and early-career researchers with the potential to become future research leaders.

The Committee (Winthrop Prof Zed Rengel, University of Western Australia, Perth; Prof Philip White, James Hutton Institute, Dundee, UK; Prof Jiang Feng Ma, Okayama University, Kurashiki, Japan) ranked all the applications, with the top three from PhD students and top three from early-career researchers/post-docs granted an award.

Here, I am very much pleased to announce the winners of the Marschner Young Scientist Award

PhD Students
Devrim Coskun
(University of Toronto,
Jérôme De Pessemier
(Free University of Brussels,
Lee Kalcsits
(University of British Columbia,
Early-career Researchers
Rubén Rellán-Álvarez
(Carnegie Institution, Stanford,
Ignacio Ciampitti
(Purdue University,
Christoph-Martin Geilfus
(Kiel University,

As recipient of the Marschner Young Scientist Award, the winners will receive financial support to attend the IPNC and will have the opportunity to present their work in a general session of the Colloquium. They will also be presented with a plaque recognizing their excellent achievement.

I congratulate all winners on this well-deserved recognition.


Ismail Cakmak
Chair of the Colloquium